Depth – Deep & Shallow

So this project was a fun one for me to try and come up with some shots that were creative but that I also really liked. I ended up getting hired this week to do the pictures for the Rigby 8th Basketball team! To get the look I wanted, I planned on using strobe flashes and a smoke machine. I used a really high F-Stop because I wanted to have my subject in focus as well as the basketball hoop and state championship banners on the wall. I am really pleased with how their pictures turned out, and I hope the kids are just as stoked on them as I am!

A few days earlier, I took a picture of my sister and brother-in-laws dogs. I kept the F-Stop really high so I was able to get them in focus as well as the silo behind them. Those dogs look like they are about to drop the hottest mixtape of 2017.

The day after that I took my wife’s maternity photos and was able to get some good bokeh and background blur by keeping a low F-Stop. It was fun taking pictures of her and my little baby boy that should be here any day!!


Deep Depth

mattvansteenkiste-rigbybball

 

Rigby Bball – 1.30.17 – 4:37 pm – Rigby Middle School, Rigby – 18mm – f16 – 1/125 sec – ISO 800 – Canon 70d – 2 strobe flashes and on camera flash

mattvansteenkiste-dogs

Stone Cold Varmint Killers – 1.28.17 – 3:37 pm – Chappell Farm, Sugar City – 30mm – f25 – 1/160 sec – ISO 640 – Canon 70d

Shallow Depth

mattvansteenkiste-horse

Pablo Meets Mo – 1.29.17 – 5:30 pm – Chappell Farm, Sugar City – 85mm – f1.4 – 1/4000 sec – ISO 100 – Canon 5d mark ii

mattvansteenkiste-pregnant

My World – 1.29.17 – 6:04 pm – Chappell Farm, Sugar City – 85mm – f1.4 – 1/5000 sec – ISO 100 – Canon 5d mark ii


6 thoughts on “Depth – Deep & Shallow

Leave a comment